Effective Use of Bb’s “Course Copy” Function

Unsure what “Course Copy” is or how to use it? Read this first.

If you use the “Course Copy” tool – and many people do – you might need to do a little extra clean-up this first time around.

Links to LTI Tools

Do you use Chalk and Wire , WebAssign, Vista Higher Learning, or VoiceThread in your Blackboard course? After completing a course copy, you must reset these links to their appropriate destination.

 

Tidying Up the Course Menu

Here are the steps on reordering and deleting menu items. Your content will appear below the newly-named content areas and you may be tempted to delete these default content areas altogether. We recommend using them. Why?

 

use content areas

 

When you perform your “Course Copy” next time around, it will be simple and clean. It’s that simple. Here is Blackboard’s explanation of how content area copies are handled:

Resolving Copied Course Items

When copying content and tools from one course to an existing course, the course menu must resolve itself in the destination course. The following table describes how course menu items are resolved.
If
Then
A course area in the source course does not exist in the destination course.
The area will be added to the course menu in the destination course.
The course area in the source course and the course area in the destination course have the same name and are of the same type, for example, Web Links, Course Documents, or Content.
The content from the source course will be added, but will not replace the content in the area within the destination course.
The course area in the source course and the course area in the destination course have the same name but are of different types.
The course area from the source course will be added to the destination course under a different name. The new name will append an incremental numeral to the name. For example, Course Materials will become Course Materials1.

 

 

A Note About “Course Copy”

 

Blackboard queues these processes and there can sometimes be a waiting period that you aren’t expecting. Meanwhile, the system is known to send out those emails letting you know the process is completed (before it actually is). If your content doesn’t all appear to be there, it probably isn’t finished. Grab a cup of coffee, come back, and refresh your course page. When the process is truly done, the status bar will let you know (after you refresh the page):

 

Course Copy status bar

 

*Please refrain from attempting multiple course copies. This wreaks havoc on the system and causes your course size to exponentially increase. If your first attempt goes awry, please contact us.